Om Shanti Shanti

Week two of my thirty-day journey has come and gone. Here are a few thoughts from after today’s practice:

“Do not ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive, and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” -Howard Thurman

Chelsea Rae read those words during shavasana this morning. Her voice with the slow sunrise moved my soul, a little. I have done some form of yoga everyday for 15 days. I feel good. My arms are are getting a little achy and I have to force myself to rest, but I feel good.

That quote has been hanging over me all day. What makes me feel alive? Yoga, running, singing, cooking, painting, sculpting, writing-all these things make me feel like a real person with a beating heart. Isn’t that the point of a spiritual life? Couldn’t salvation be found in life itself? Isn’t that why we take risks? To feel ourselves? To feel God pulsing through us? Regardless, I am grateful for yoga today. Grateful for breathing and moving and bending and breaking.

Halfway in and I know the god I am looking for is bigger than my old one. He also looks like me, though he is a loving Father he is a small Woman. Though he is the Source itself, he is a grain of sand. He is the vapor of my exhale, the oxygen of my inhale.

Namaste

(You can find my thoughts on Week One here)

Leave a Reply

