Imagination

“We are so obsessed with doing that we have no time and no imagination left for being. As a result, men are valued not for what they are but for what they do or what they have – for their usefulness.”

-Thomas Merton

I originally had planned on writing one long post to shed light on the origins of the name of this blog this week. However, recent news and events have weighed so heavily that I can’t seem to get all my thoughts out in one coherent post. So please give me a little grace, and consider this the first part of a disjointed, two part post.

These are interesting times (I know when I say that I sounds trite, but in an effort to be kind and fair, that’s all I will say). When I read the above quote from New Seeds of Contemplation, it struck me as incredibly relevant. In my fairly conventional upbringing, my sense of imagination was nurtured. I just played a lot more than did anything else when I was young. When I grew older, it seemed like imagination was treated as a leisurely activity and something altogether necessary. As I sit here and shift through all of my almost-adult problems and questions, I know that my life demands imagination everyday.

img_9304-copy

In this political climate, there are many choices being made that rub people the wrong way. There are people groups being targeted, women being harassed, and whole organizations being silenced. I am not trying to say that I feel personally under attack, but I am an empath so my neighbor’s pain is my pain. That said, one of the decisions that caught me closer to home is that the funding of the National Endowment for the Arts and National Endowment for Humanities is under fire. I wrote a lengthy research paper on the NEA my freshman year of college, so I feel like they are my neighbor. I know that funding for the NEA and NEH has been low, so the money isn’t the issue for me. I think what offends me most is that arts of all kinds are seen as leisure. I am definitely not here to rant about politics, but what I am wanting to say is that nothing can stop imagination from being important. I think it gets difficult sometimes to not be “obsessed with doing.” We all live tense lives. Imagination-visual arts, literature, music- is the pulse of fresh blood running through all of us. Imagination is one of the beautiful things that makes us human.

So what do we do now? We hold on to our imagination and we keep creating. We look right in the face of this challenge to the worth of art, we smile and say “we will help each other live better lives through our leisurely activities.” Because it’s true.

Leave a Reply

