Weekday Reading

I have been sort of halfway sick this week, so I got to finish reading more than my goal! As exciting as that is, this week’s main title deserves all the attention. So let’s get into it.

img_2630

Week #2: Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

This book was an incredible treat to read. I would recommend it to anyone. The  writing style is conversational and fairly easy to follow. I felt like reading this letter was a privileged look into a culture and history that I am not apart of. Coates’s commentary on race and what it means to have a “black body” is relevant and full of impact.

I cannot say much more than read this book. I was fortunate enough to be given a copy. I will give you my copy if not having it in your hands is what is stopping you. There are lots of moments that I are important in this book, but this quote is my favorite:

“The forgetting is habit, is yet another necessary component of the Dream. They have forgotten the scale of theft that enriched them in slavery; the terror that allowed them, for a century, to pilfer the vote; the segregationist policy that gave them their suburbs. They have forgotten, because to remember would tumble them out of the beautiful Dream and force them to live down here with us, down here in the world. I am convinced that the Dreamers, at least the Dreamers of today, would rather live white than live free. In the Dream they are Buck Rogers, Prince Aragorn, an entire race of Skywalkers. To awaken them is to reveal that they are an empire of humans and, like all empire of humans, are built on the destruction of the body. It is to stain their nobility, to make them vulnerable, fallible, breakable humans.”

Coates has not only made me feel uncomfortable, but responsible. I am terrified and excited to find out what it means to live free.

Warmly,
Mary Emily

Other titles finished this week: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket, The Feather Room by Anis Mojgani

 

Leave a Reply

