Weekday Reading

This year, my goal is to read 50 books! The joy of completing a goal like this is gaining fifty more titles to recommend to friends, family, and you. Every weekend (I’m a little late this weekend), I want to share a few brief thoughts on my weekday reading.

IMG_2455.JPG

Week #1: Finding Ultra by Rich Roll

For me, I have found that the best way to inspire action is through a good book. To kickstart my new year of running, I picked up this number at the library. The book was well written and compelling. Roll details stories of his career as a swimmer, defeating alcoholism, and completing five Ironmans (the Epic 5) in less than a week. Roll is now an ultra-triathlete, cookbook author and the host of one of my favorite podcasts-The Rich Roll Podcast. I will say that the book slowed down for me a little at the end. Roll follows a strict plant-based diet and detailed what he eats and doesn’t eat. I do love food advice, but it seemed unrelated at some points. Also, there is a secondary character who I found way more inspiring than Roll. Shout out to Jason Lester who completed the “Epic 5” with Rich Roll with only the use of one arm!

In the end, I would say this is a solid read if you want to understand a little bit more about ultra athletes. I want to close with my favorite quote from the book:

“There’s a new path waiting for you, too. All you have to do is look for it–then take that first step. If you show up and stay present, that step will eventually become a gigantic leap forward. And then you’ll show us who you really are.” 

Alright folks, let’s go show the world who we really are. Check back with me next weekend to see what I spent the week reading!

Warmly,

Mary Emily

 

Leave a Reply

